review: it ends with us by colleen hoover

it ends with us by colleen hoover
published: august 2nd 2016
standalone

amazonbarnes & noblegoodreads

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.


.::RATING 3 STARS::.

That’s what fifteen minutes can do to a person. It can destroy them.
It can save them.

I know what the people who rated this 5 stars must be thinking. Which was basically everyone.


I’m sorry. I wish I wasn’t feeling so conflicted. But lets not make this personal so leave my cow out of this.

I’m going to keep this review non-spoilery so those who want to read it get the full experience, because I truly believe it will be much more impactful going into It Ends with Us blind.

I understand why the majority of people rated this 4 and 5 stars. And I understand the few who rated it less. I won’t deny that this is a powerful story. And I won’t even deny that it brought me to tears at some points. Hoover doesn’t shy away from heavy, disturbing content and the lessons she teaches are ones that are meaningful and so, very true. It’s a story, that to me, was portrayed without without prejudice and without shitty, flat characterization. Parts of this story broke my heart.

However, that being said, I didn’t really connect with the story. And I know that sounds kind of strange/ironic after everything I just said above. But something doesn’t have to connect with me personally for me to also be able to understand it. I feel like I’m not making much sense but I don’t know how to put it into words. There were times, especially in the beginning, when I thought the dialogue was a little ridiculous and forced and the kept me from connecting like I should have.

Would I recommend this book? Yes and no. I’m leaning more towards yes because I believe It Ends with Us has some great life lessons. I don’t know. Don’t let this semi-coherent review fool you. I’m very confused right now.

T H O U G H T S ?
Leave a Reply

