review: a court of mist and fury by sarah j maas

a court of mist and fury by sarah j maas
published: may 3rd 2016
genres & keywords: fantasy, new adult, romance
series: a court of thorns and roses #2

amazonbarnes & noblegoodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.


.:: RATING 3 STARS ::.

me:

sarah j maas:

me:

What am I trying to say? To be honest, I don’t even know. Two things. (1) Sarah J. Maas is trying her hardest to murder me via cliffhanger and I don’t appreciate it (update: its working). (2) This book is predictable as fuck.

While I enjoyed A Court of Mist and Fury more than A Court of Thorns and Roses, I still had a lot of issues with the book.

Tamlin’s portrayal. I’ll be the first to say that I didn’t feel a connection between him and Feyre. I’ll also admit that I was Team Rhysand since the day he showed up. However, I fully respect that other readers didn’t/don’t feel the same as I do and I understood why. Tamlin’s not an asshole. He’s supported, protected, and cherished Feyre. Until now. When he suddenly turns into the lover from hell. Why did Sarah J. Maas make him into jerk? To push Rhysand on the reader? I think we’re fully capable of coming to our own conclusions and if I don’t feel that Tamlin is right for Feyre, I’ll believe that. Sometimes you can be the most loving, protective, and dedicated person and still not be right for somebody. That happens all the time. But to make Tamlin a raging asshole just to make me like Rhysand more. No, thanks.

The predictability. Not much came as a surprise to me. And that’s saying something, because I am, certifiably, the most clueless person to ever live. Things go right over my head all the time. When I actually get something, it’s like a mini accomplishment. Readers are always throwing theories around and I’m literally that lone duck in the corner that never knows what’s going on. That changed. Either my predication skills just got steroids, in which case I’m going to become a professional, full-time guesser, or this book just did a poor job at trying to surprise me. While I’d like to believe it’s the former, I’m, like, 87% sure it’s the latter.

The unoriginality. There were quite a few scenes, especially in relation to certain ships, that reminded me of the Throne of Glass series. Especially when a certain someone found out a certain something and acted in a certain way. A few concepts felt recycled and that makes it really easy to get tired of an author.

The sappiness. I go between having too much of a heart and have no heart at all. A Court of Mist and Fury must have gotten me on a bad day because the sap made me want to skewer my eyes out.

There were some redeeming qualities, however, that left me interested enough for book 3.

Rhysand. This deliciously dark, devilish, cunning character had quite a presence in ACOMAF. Which was a lifesaver because that was pretty much THE ONLY thing keeping me interested in book 1. He may be all those things mentioned above but he’s also… protective and soft-hearted and ♥.♥
Any significant other that treats you like an equal is #1 in my book.

The ending. Yes, I know, I was just bitching about the cliffhanger ending. But as tool the get readers invested in the story that is to come, I can’t deny it’s very effective. I hate you, cliffhanger, but I respect you.

T H O U G H T S ?
Leave a Reply

