review: blue lily, lily blue by maggie stiefvater

blue lily, lily blue by maggie stiefvater
published: october 21st 2014
genres & keywords: fantasy, young adult, romance
series: the raven cycle #3

amazonbarnes & noblegoodreads

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.


.:: RATING 5 STARS ::.

“Queens and kings, Kings and queens
Blue lily, lily blue, Crowns and birds
Swords and things, Blue lily, lily blue”


This series has reduced me to a barely functioning mess, making fan art and listening to fan mixes in my spare time. Which isn’t anything wrong, except responsibilities. Responsibilities I have grossly neglected that really need to stop being grossly neglected.

These books just suck you in and take you prisoner. I feel like Maggie Stiefvater is a mad genius or something. The way she makes me feel for these characters, it’s like a physical ache. Each book makes you feel like a friend, like a familiar, leaving little inside jokes here and there for you to pick up on. It makes you feel like you’re a part of their quest, their awfulness and strangeness.

“Everything has gotten so ugly. It wasn’t supposed to be this way.”

This is the conclusion of my reread, and I am more convinced than ever that I was so oblivious. What was I do when I thought was I reading this book. I had such a superficial understanding of the workings of this plot and it’s only with this reread that I truly understand and am impressed by the intricacies of the tale and complexities of the characters.

Piper and Colin Greenmantle were awesome additions to the Raven Cycle universe. I feel like my review of this story give off a semi depressing perspective of this series, which isn’t a really accurate description because as hopeless and things may be, Maggie Stiefvater finds ways to break the bleak ice. Enter, the Greenmantles.

“Will you marry me?” she asked.
He thought about it. “I love myself the most, though. Are you okay always coming in second?”
“Samesies,” she replied.

I would love to think I would be the type of girl who’d answer with the same hilariously offhand comment and mean it, but I know my response would be more on the lines of “go sit on a cactus and lose my number” “lol no”.

However, these two were so unapologetically ‘evil’, and so hilariously… married, that despite how badly they were fucking everything up, I wouldn’t have wished it any different. (foreshadowing: I am 100% certain I will regret this statement with the release of The Raven King)

 

MY SHIPS ARE STRONGER THAN EVER.

“And then we never speak of it again,” Gansey said, mocking himself softly, and Blue was so glad of it, because she had played the words from that night over and over in her mind and wanted to know he had, too.

The impossibility of them together makes it so savagely sweet. Every moment they spend together leaves you heady, waiting on the next moment before the first one has even finished. You know these stolen moments are not enough. You know Gansey is living on borrowed time and even that will give out soon enough.

Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together…

Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together…
Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together…
Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together…
RONAN AND ADAM KEPT VANISHING PLACES TOGETHER

*screaming internally*
*screaming externally*
*screaming eternally*

It was time to find Glendower. They all knew it.

My heart is so full. Full of Welsh kings, and late night phone calls, secret meetings, stolen touches, lost mothers, whispering trees, and the unavoidable awareness that each moment brings us closer to the end. When Glendower is found. When Gansey is dead. When everything will have to go back to normal, except we’ve all forgotten what normal even is.

Soon it would be behind him. Soon this school year, too would be behind him. Soon they would find Glendower, soon they would all be kings. Soon, soon.

.:: ALSO, FOR ANYONE INTERESTED ::.
・ This is the most Bluesy song I have ever heard: Drive

Your laugh echoes down the hallway
Carves into my hollow chest, spreads over the emptiness
It’s bliss
It’s so simple but we can’t stay
Over analyze again, would it really kill you if we kissed?

All we do is drive
All we do is think about the feelings that we hide
All we do is sit in silence waiting for a sign
Sick and full of pride
All we do is drive

・ This is the most Pynch song I have ever heard: Take Me To Church

No masters or kings when the ritual begins
There is no sweeter innocence than our gentle sin
In the madness and soil of that sad earthly scene
Only then I am human
Only then I am clean
Amen. Amen. Amen

Take me to church
I’ll worship like a dog at the shrine of your lies
I’ll tell you my sins and you can sharpen your knife
Offer me that deathless death
Good God, let me give you my life

.:: ORIGINAL REVIEW ::.blue lily, lily blue

T H O U G H T S ?
Leave a Reply

