review: the dream thieves by maggie stiefvater

the dream thieves by maggie stiefvater
published: september 17th 2013
genres & keywords: fantasy, young adult, romance
series: the raven cycle #2

amazonbarnes & noblegoodreads

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Of The Raven Boys, Entertainment Weekly wrote, “Maggie Stiefvater’s can’t-put-it-down paranormal adventure will leave you clamoring for book two.” Now the second book is here, with the same wild imagination, dark romance, and heart-stopping twists that only Maggie Stiefvater can conjure.


.:: RATING 5 STARS ::.

Rex Corvus, parate Regis Corvi.
The Raven King, make way for The Raven King.

*rolls out the red carpet I hand-stitched myself*


One word: Ronan.

Ronan, Ronan, my dearest snake, Ronan.

This book would be amazing just on the basis that it features an exclusive look at one of the most enigmatic characters in the series. Although, that isn’t saying much seeing as all the characters are onions of mystery. However, Maggie Stiefvater is a gifted storyteller, and amazing characterization isn’t all you will get.

No, you get a plot that can carry its own and a writing that leaves you bereft when you’re elsewhere, wishing you could return to the story, wishing it was you in the story.

Ronan was everything that was left: molten eyes and a smile made for war.

God, how I love these characters and Ronan is no exception. As you may see, my previous review is in the spoiler below, because that is a night horror straight out of my own head (I’ll probably be saying the same thing about this one in a few months time). However, one line did strike me as relevant. I feel like Kavinsky is who Ronan could have been, in another life. Without Gansey, things could’ve been very different. He would’ve been very different.

One thing Maggie Stiefvater is incredibly talented at is creating an atmosphere of nostalgia.

It was mint and memories and the past and the future and she felt as if she’d done this before and already she longed to do it again.

The way the author plays with the concept of time, how things have yet to happened yet already did, leaves me with a feeling of weepy wistfulness. As if there’s no way to change was is to come because it already happened. Now, that’s not necessarily true, as you’ll find in the book, but the predominant theme is just that, you’re running on recycled time and the air it gives the story is drugging. Just like Blue, I felt as if I had done this before and already I longed to do it again.

Also, this being a reread, I just want to reiterated what I stated in my previous review for [book:The Raven Boys|17675462]: THE CLUES. Oh, the damn clues I failed so historically to see. I mean, holy hell, it couldn’t have been more obvious if Maggie Stiefvater had called me up herself to personally deconstruct everything I just read. Now, to cut myself some slack, hindsight is 20/20 and there’s so much more I understand now because I have more pieces on the table to work with. But at the same time, I was almost embarrassingly dense.

That’s not to say this series isn’t full of surprises, because it most definitely is.

“He’s not alone when he leaves his car behind.”
There was something chilling about that phrase. Leaves behind. It could have just meant “parked the car.” But it didn’t sound like that when Calla said it. It sounded like a synonym for abandon. And it seemed like it would take something pretty monstrous to make Gansey abandon the Pig.
“When does it happen?”
“It already has,” Calla replied. Her eyes open and fixed on Blue. “And it hasn’t yet.”

SEE? See what I mean? Reading The Raven Cycle is like reading an inevitability. The foreshadowing, the idea that things are inescapably fated, rakes over your feelings. Because nothing will be the same. Not after Glendower. Not after Gansey.

 

.:: ORIGINAL REVIEW ::.the dream thieves

 

T H O U G H T S ?
Leave a Reply

