review: the score by elle kennedy

The Score by Elle Kennedy
Published: January 11th 2016
Genres & Keywords: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Series: Off Campus #3

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

He knows how to score, on and off the ice.

Allie Hayes is in crisis mode. With graduation looming, she still doesn’t have the first clue about what she’s going to do after college. To make matters worse, she’s nursing a broken heart thanks to the end of her longtime relationship. Wild rebound sex is definitely not the solution to her problems, but gorgeous hockey star Dean Di-Laurentis is impossible to resist. Just once, though, because even if her future is uncertain, it sure as heck won’t include the king of one-night stands.

It’ll take more than flashy moves to win her over.

Dean always gets what he wants. Girls, grades, girls, recognition, girls…he’s a ladies man, all right, and he’s yet to meet a woman who’s immune to his charms. Until Allie. For one night, the feisty blonde rocked his entire world—and now she wants to be friends? Nope. It’s not over until he says it’s over. Dean is in full-on pursuit, but when life-rocking changes strike, he starts to wonder if maybe it’s time to stop focusing on scoring…and shoot for love.


R A T I N G ★★★

Initially, I was going to rate The Score 2.5 stars but after that bombshell ending, I’m bumping it to 3 stars. I did not see that coming.

 (x)

I had quite a few issues with this book . . .

We both check out her ass when she turns around. I don’t feel pervy about it, because she’s pretty much inviting out appreciative glances by shaking that round bottom and swaying her hips as she walks.

Um, no one is pretty much inviting you to do anything. I’m not going to take this out of context, from the way this scene was presented, the bartender was flirting with these guys. But the phrasing really annoyed me. This is how misogynistic comments like “she was asking for it because of what she was wearing” or “it’s not my fault I did ____, she was walking in a ‘sexual manner'” get started.

“There were some flashbacks in the earlier episodes that heavily implied he wanted to jiggle down with his daughter.”
“Kinky.”

Meant to be a joke? Yes. Funny? No. Just ew.

.
(x)

And Gramps Kendrick was a real estate developer.”
“Like Donald Trump?”

Trump made a brief cameo, as if I wasn’t sick of him enough seeing him on every news outlet.

But I love him, and if I hear that some chick tried to put her hands on him, I’ll beat her senseless. He’s mine.

^^My biggest issue. Why, why are you blaming the girl? Please explain that to me. Because the girl is not the one you’re in a relationship with, now is she? No, you’re in a relationship with Dean. So the only one you should be “beating senseless” is Dean. Why has it become so ingrained for women to blame other women for the faults of men? Not cool.

However, I couldn’t help the tiny part of me that enjoyed reading about Dean & Allie’s relationship. They were cute together, and the sexual tension is, well, very evident. While I wasn’t completely sold on their dynamic, and the plot left something to be desired (save for the ending), the sprinkle of humor and their budding romance managed to make this somewhat enjoyable.

That being said, I’m definitely reading The Goal, partially because I still think this series has potential, but mostly because I’m nosy as hell and NEED to know how that ending even happened.

T H O U G H T S ?
Leave a Reply

