review: morning star by pierce brown

Published: February 9th 2016
Genres & Keywords: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adult
Works From Author: Red Rising trilogy

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Darrow would have lived in peace, but his enemies brought him war. The Gold overlords demanded his obedience, hanged his wife, and enslaved his people. But Darrow is determined to fight back. Risking everything to transform himself and breach Gold society, Darrow has battled to survive the cutthroat rivalries that breed Society’s mightiest warriors, climbed the ranks, and waited patiently to unleash the revolution that will tear the hierarchy apart from within.

Finally, the time has come.

But devotion to honor and hunger for vengeance run deep on both sides. Darrow and his comrades-in-arms face powerful enemies without scruple or mercy. Among them are some Darrow once considered friends. To win, Darrow will need to inspire those shackled in darkness to break their chains, unmake the world their cruel masters have built, and claim a destiny too long denied – and too glorious to surrender.


R A T I N G ★★★★★

If you’re watching, Eo, it’s time to close your eyes.
The Reaper has come. And he’s brought hell with him.







10 days. 1,364 pages. 1 very sleep-deprived reader. 1 broken coffeemaker.

How do you even move on from a series like this? For 10 days, my whole world has pretty much existed around this trilogy. And now, I’m afraid I’m suffering from The Hangover from Hell™ .

I couldn’t have asked for a more well-thought out and executed series. The character development was amazing. Reading these three books back to back, you really comprehend how much each character has evolved. Nobody was as they were before. Events change, dreams change, plans change . . . and it’s only fitting that as the characters change, so does their ideology.

I’m pretty sure this will go down in history as one of my favorite trilogies of all time. The world-building is incredible and the writing follows. I’ve read quite a few books that fall victim to wasted potential (it makes my brain bleed just thinking about it) but I can guarantee you won’t find that here. If I’m to be honest, Morning Star was probably my least favorite, just because there were a few moments where I lost interest, but those were very few. And that probably had more to do with my hectic schedule than anything else. So because of that, and because I can’t bear to give this book anything less than 5 stars, I’m just letting that go.

There’s more videos, more little truths I discover. But the one viewed the most according to the holodeck was the time Cassius said he found two new brothers and offered us places as lancers to House Bellona. He looked so hopeful then. So happy to be alive. We all did, even I, despite what I felt inside. My betrayal feels all the more monstrous watching it from afar.

 

No, no I’m okay, I promise. It’s only PIERCE GRATING MY HEART dust in my eye. No biggie.

You’re not going to find anything black and white here. What happens when you’re on the wrong side of history? When you swore an oath to be loyal above all else. Above morality, ethics, personal sentiments. Are you really the bad guy for following through? What about all the people you sacrifice to make the world a better place? All the innocent lives taken for the greater good? Does that make you the good guy? History is written by the victors. If the roles were reversed how different would our perspective be? There really aren’t any answers for these questions but I’m glad that during the story, it was something that was brought up. It really gets you thinking and shows character depth. People are complex. Society is complex. And rarely are things so clear cut.

AND DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON HOW PIERCE BROWN LITERALLY CACKLED WHILE HE PUT MY HEART IN A BLENDER AND MADE A SMOOTHIE OUT OF IT. You know when you read a book and just know that the author is not going to just harm or kill a major character. Like, yeah, they’ll get a bruise or two, maybe even a broken bone if the author decides to really get crazy, but no serious maiming. Well, Pierce just spat on that. Your favorite characters are not safe. No one is safe. And that’s part of what makes this series so bloodydamn good. Anything goes.

We’re not fighting for the dead. We’re fighting for the living.

All in all, I can’t recommend this trilogy fast or fervently enough. You have everything: action, humor, romance, world-building, twists, turns, kickass heroes & heroines . . . PLEASE, JUST READ IT.

((f.d: the visuals above were edited by myself– base images were found on google))

T H O U G H T S ?
Leave a Reply

