top ten tuesday

Bienvenido! WELCOME TO TOP TEN TUESDAY. This is a weekly meme featured on The Broke and Bookish.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This weeks theme is . . .

Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit (aka ten book series I think I’m going to abandon, ten bookish habits I want to quit, ten authors I quit reading, ten types of books I’m quitting, ten tropes I want to stop reading about, ten books I marked as DNF (did not finish) recently, etc. Get as creative as you want).

Instead of focusing on just one, I’m going to do a little bit of all of them.

1. Book Series I Think I’m Going To Abandon

The Mortal Instruments series, Cocktail series, Bloodlines series

I once read somewhere that the saddest friendships are the ones the end for no other reason than you just stop talking. I guess it’s kinda the same with these books. Publishing usually takes about a year of more and after all that time, I begin to forget why I picked up the series in the first place. I know, that’s pretty sad. This is not to deter you, though! I remember really enjoying them when I picked it up. So much time has passed now that I feel like I’d have to start from scratch to understand everything that’s going on and I’m not sure I want to do that. After a while, I just didn’t feel the need to continue with the series.

2. Book Series I’m Definitely Abandoning

Strange Fate

This review here says it all. Most have been waiting 16 years for the final book is released. When’s the release date? 2030. Yeah, I don’t think so.

3. Bookish Habits I Want To Quit

Judging a book by its cover. I realized that I get too caught up in the aesthetics of a book. I’ve read a ton of amazing books, despite the not-so-appealing cover and I know for a fact I’ve missed out on some really awesome stories because I couldn’t get passed the cover. It’s so superficial of me and a quality I hate having so I’m making it my mission to stop judging a book by its cover.

Letting a few negative reviews get in the way of my reading experience. A lot of times negative reviews have saved me from reading a book I know I would have hated. But sometimes there are some mixed reviews on a book I was really interested in, an those few negative remarks have me rethinking. It’s turned me into a really picky reader and diminishes the easy-going, pick-up-anything-that-catches-my-fancy kind of vibe that attracted me in the beginning.

Book domination. I think we’re all a little familiar with this one! I’ll have a super busy week ahead of me and the book I’m reading just won’t let me go. I’m so wrapped up in the story that I could care less that I have a research paper due the next day. Great for the book & author, very bad for me.

4. Authors I Quit Reading

Karina Halle, Kristen Ashley, Tiffany Reisz

I’m going to break this one down since each was for a different reason. I was a big fan of Karina Halle and would read anything the second it was published. After a while, however, I felt like her stories began to lack quality and true depth. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either and I was left with a meh feeling by the end.
Kristen Ashley was another fave but after reading more than a dozen of her books, I felt like I could write one. That’s how predictable they became. Girl meets boy, connection develops, steamy times, she gets kidnapped or put in some kind of danger, happily ever after.
Tiffany Reisz. I just can’t take the emotional torture she puts me through. Maybe one day I’ll pick up her novels again. If you don’t mind books that squeeze every inch of feel out of you, then reader, meet author!

THOSE ARE MY TOP TEN FOR THIS WEEK. WHAT DO YOU THINK? READ ANY OF THESE BEFORE? HAVE SOMETHING YOU WANT TO ADD? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

2 thoughts on “top ten tuesday

    • Yeah, it’s something I’m learning to stop letting affect me. I know there are so many good books out there that I might not read because I read one bad review :/

Leave a Reply

