review: shatter me by tahereh mafi

 

Published: November 15th 2011 by Harper
Genres & Keywords: fantasy, romance, young adult
Books From Author: Shatter Me series, Furthermore

Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Goodreads

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

MY TOUCH IS LETHAL. MY TOUCH IS POWERFUL.

 

I’m a bit conflicted about Shatter Me. At first, I was absolutely mesmerized by this book. The concept was interesting, the characters likable, and the writing engaging. But when I really analyzed it, it kind of lost some of it’s spark. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy it, and that I won’t be continuing on with the series, but there were some things that I could’ve done without.

I’ve been locked up for 264 days.
I have nothing but a small notebook and a broken pen and the numbers in my head to keep me company. 1 window. 4 walls. 144 square feet of space. 26 letters in an alphabet I haven’t spoken in 264 days of isolation.
6,336 hours since I’ve touched another human being.

Juliette is plagued with the misfortune of killing whoever she touches. She’s been thrown into an asylum after trying to help a young boy and accidentally touching him.

But things happen wen people touch me. Strange things. Bad things.
Dead things.

With the outside world descending into chaos with a lack of food, shelter, and proper order . . . the Reestablishment is trying its hardest to keep people submissive and in fear. And now Juliette has to make a choice, be a weapon or be a warrior.

It becomes apparent quickly to Juliette has had a really tough life. This girl could not catch a break.

I know my parents never bothered to say goodbye. I know I didn’t cry as I was taken away.

It’s easy to sympathize with her. But other than that, I really didn’t feel anything towards her, except annoyance in select areas. I really wanted a strong, confident character. I wanted her to take action. To control her own destiny. But I feel like she just went wherever the wind blew.

*sidenote* if I have to read one more time that she *gasped* at something, I’m going to cry.


We have lost our humanity.

I am 110% on Team Warner. Oh, how that man stole my heart ♥ He’s supposed to be the “villain” of the story, or at least one of them, but I couldn’t stop drooling over him like he was going to be my last meal long enough to care.


“His smile is laced with dynamite. “Go to sleep”
“Go to hell.”
He works his jaw. Walks to the door. “I’m working on it.”

As for Adam, as long as he’s out of the picture, I don’t care what happens to him. I’m pretty sure I was supposed to like him, but Warner had all my attention. I couldn’t find it in myself to believe in Adam and Juliette’s connection.
I do have to admit, however, Kenji + Adam banter = ♥
But I think that has more to do with Kenji’s amazingness than anything Adam did.

 

The writing was good and bad. At first, I was in love with it. The lyrical quality and its captivating effect gripped me from page 1. But then, we got into these metaphors that came one after another and . . . I don’t even know what to tell you other than . . . what in the actual hell was that supposed to mean? We went into these complex explanations about rain and blushing that was completely unnecessary and just a little bit overdone.

The world-building was great, though. I was really convinced of what was happening and had a clear picture of this dystopian world. The fear, uncertainty, turmoil . . . I could feel it. Which made Shatter Me much more believable and engaging.

“All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”

Yes, there is room for improvement but, all in all, it was a pretty good read, which is why I’m rating it 4 stars and eagerly awaiting starting book 2 in book I heart Warner t-shirt.

I have a curse.
I HAVE A GIFT.

I’m a monster.
I’M MORE THAN HUMAN.

My touch Is lethal.
MY TOUCH IS POWER.

I am their weapon.
I WILL FIGHT BACK.”

✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ 4 stars

The Verdict: Despite all these not-so-good-qualities, I really did enjoy the book. This is one of those moments where, I noticed these things but they didn’t really take away from my overall enjoyment.

HAVE YOU READ THIS? WHAT DID YOU THINK? ARE YOU TEAM ADAM OR TEAM WARNER? IF NOT, IS THERE ANYTHING SIMILAR TO SHATTER ME THAT YOU’VE READ? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

Leave a Reply

