review: the untouchables by j. j. mcavoy

Published: January 22nd 2015 by NYLA
Genres & Keywords: adult, erotica, dark, crime, mystery, suspense
Books From Author: Ruthless People series

Amazon | Goodreads

One Secret. Multiple Casualties.

Everything Melody Callahan has ever been told about her past is a lie. Her father lied. Her husband lied. But like all secrets…they come out. Not only is her mother, Aviela, alive but she won’t stop until she tears down everything Liam and Melody have spent the past year building.

With a new target on their back and the media now focused on their family as the Presidential election approaches, Liam and Melody must fight on two battlefronts. Melody is torn between being in love with Liam and wanting to kill him for lying to her. Being in love and showing love are two different things in her world. Liam wants to do anything to protect his family even if that means hurting the people he loves.

Family is everything… but what happens when they’re out for your blood? Everything they have been through is nothing compared to what is coming…

Warning: This book contains adult language and subject matter including graphic violence and explict sex that may be disturbing for some readers. This book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

We were all fakers; lying to people who were lying to themselves.

Pretty much me while reading The Untouchables.

I wasn’t sure what was coming, but I knew it was coming straight from hell.

I don’t want to elaborate on the storyline because, with all the twists and turns this book took, it’ll be a lot to chew through and I’m 102% positive I’m going to spoil something. It’s a gift.

I have a love/hate relationship with these characters. On one hand, I love how loyal they are to each other. They feel so passionately for one another and aren’t afraid to fight their way on the top of the food chain. They’d do anything for family and power.

Family is family, even when you wish they weren’t.

On the other hand, their moral compass is just about nonexistent. They don’t flinch at slaughtering anyone in their way to get what they want. It’s as if life has no value to them, only their own and their loved ones. I’m both disgusted and interested in these characters. It’s almost like a gross fascination. I know they’re going to make plenty of shitty decisions, and yet, I can’t look away.

“Until I’m dead – and only when I’m dead – am I out of this game. Until then I fucking own you. Are we clear?”

I still don’t know if I like Melody or not. There were times when I got tired of her need to make sure everybody knew she dominated. I understood if someone was disrespecting her because she was a women and all she should be doing is making sandwiches and cleaning the blood off her husbands shirt. I was all for her demonstrations of, i’m better, faster, and smarter than you. But by this point, Liam and the family know you’re the Queen Bee. We get it. They get it. Riddling the whole family in bullets and walking around handing everybody their balls got tiring after a while.
To her credit, though, we did see a softer, funnier side to her. I just wish we got more of that.

I love the fact that big, bad Liam is wrapped around Melody’s finger. He would do just about anything for her and it melts my heart. He has plenty of faults don’t get me wrong, and one scene in particular really jumps out at me where you really see that these guys are really fucking shitty human beings.

“Why were our lives so fucking complicated? All I wanted to do was sell drugs, make love to my wife, and rule in peace.”

Then again, I didn’t pick this series up for it’s strictly moral and righteous characters.

Each character was developed further and the alternating POVs did a lot in giving us some variety in perspective and an inside track to the insanity going on in the cabeza.

“It is not enough to stare up the steps, we must step up the stairs.”

What keeps me coming back to this series is 1) the hot sex 2) the captivating storyline and 3) pretty awesome, yet deplorable characters. This book has everything. Angst, humor, steam, violence, plot. You name it, it’s in there. I also love those quotes at the beginning of each chapter. Really nice touch.

And holy hell that ending. That cliffhanger stunned me stupid. The fuckery that’s going to go down in book 3 is intense. I can’t wait to watch them suffer.

✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ 4 stars

The Verdict: If you’re looking for one hell of a emotional roller coaster then you’ve come to the right place. This isn’t a book of morals and standards. It’s dark, gritty, and ugly. But what an entertaining read it is!

HAVE YOU READ THIS? WHAT DID YOU THINK? ARE YOU ROOTING FOR OR AGAINST THE CALLAHANS? IF YOU HAVEN’T, DO YOU TYPICALLY READ CRIME/MYSTERIES? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

Leave a Reply

