review: golden son by pierce brown

Published: January 6th 2015 by Del Rey (Random House)
Genres & Keywords: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adult
Books From Author: Red Rising Trilogy

Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Goodreads

Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom from the overlords of a brutal elitist future built on lies. Now fully embedded among the Gold ruling class, Darrow continues his work to bring down Society from within.

A life-or-death tale of vengeance with an unforgettable hero at its heart, Golden Son guarantees Pierce Brown’s continuing status as one of fiction’s most exciting new voices.

 

They say a kingdom divided against itself cannot stand. They made no mention of the heart.


He’d have me win for him, but I’d win for the Red girl with a dream bigger than she could be. I’d win so that he dies, and her message burns across the ages.

That ending. That. ENDING.

Holy shit.

This book managed to exceed my expectations. Expectations that were ridiculously high. I don’t know how to put into words the brilliance of this story. The writing just reels you in from the beginning and you’re consumed with everything that’s happening.

 

I am the Peerless Scarred. Cruelest and brightest of all humankind. But I miss the kindest of them.

Things start off two years after the Institute. His friends have gone on different paths: Mustang to Luna, Sevro to Pluto, and Darrow at the Academy. His next goal is earn a fleet and get the ball rolling for the Sons of Ares.

Darrow has come such a long way since we first met him in Red Rising. He’s still plagued by guilt, loss, and pain. He’s torn between who he was and who he’s become. Creating a world free of colors and slavery is still his top priority but protecting his friends, people he should hate, constantly conflicts him.

I’m not a conquering hero. I’m a necessary evil.

 

I love characters like Darrow. Flawed, imperfect characters that struggle between doing what’s best and becoming a monster in the process and keeping close the things/people that make him humble. He doesn’t fall short in making mistakes and many lives are lost because of what he’s set into motion. But his love and loyalty to his friends, family, and cause endear you to him.

“You’re going to fall into trouble because you believe that exceptions to the rule make new rules.”

Golden Son wouldn’t have been the same without a few other characters, some new, some old. Servo *happy dances* Mustang, Roque, Victra, Ragnar . . . they were all amazing additions.

How little life costs here. Just words in the air.


I was absolutely addicted to this book. I couldn’t tear my eyes away. I ended up reading until 4am because I kept telling myself just ten more minutes. I looked like one of those detailed Spongebob paintings the next morning.

This is about freedom. Yet it seems like everyone just wants to follow.

The lies, the pain, heartbreak, betrayals . . . this book is filled with things that will leave you gasping and your heart aching. Pierce Brown doesn’t hold back. There’s loss and violence, and if you’ve read book 1, you know killing off a character isn’t a rare occurrence. Things are raw and bloody and characters that skip off into the sunset without a scratch isn’t something you’re going to find here.

Golden Son was fast-paced and unputdownable. There were so many twists and turns. I kept trying to get one step ahead but by the end I just said to hell with it and went along for the ride.

In a world of killers, it takes more to be kind than to be wicked.

 

Once you’ve started, there’s not stopping. The Red Rising Trilogy will suck you in and has me counting down the days until book 3 makes its appearance.

And THAT ENDING. I’m still speechless over it.

✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ 5 stars

The Verdict: This is an absolute must-read. I don’t know what else to say other than READ IT!!!!!!!! This series will keep you on the edge of your seat!

HAVE YOUR READ THIS? WHAT DID YOU THINK OF THAT CLIFFHANGER? IF NOT, IS FANTASY/SCIENCE FICTION A GENRE YOU WOULD USUALLY READ? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

*ARC kindly provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

3 thoughts on “review: golden son by pierce brown

  1. Great review! I love the quotes you selected. I LOVE THESE BOOKS! And I’m still not over that ending to Golden Son. I don’t know which hurt more…Lorn or Victra – “the smell of stone before rain”.

    • Thank you! These books are absolutely amazing. They leave me speechless. Especially that ending in Golden Son. The thing killing me more than anything else is the release date for the final book! 2016. How will we make it? Haha

Leave a Reply

