BLOG TOUR | The Reason I Stay by Patty Maximini

The Reason I Stay by Patty Maximini
Published: September 10th 2014
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Part Of A Series? Nope
Other Books From Author: Exception

Why Did I Choose This Book? I needed something really cute and light but also emotional. The synopsis immediately caught my eye . . . as well as the gorgeous cover ♥

Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Goodreads | Author Blog | Facebook | Twitter

SO, WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

Jack Daniels is the cure to all evils.
Sex should be casual and, preferably, anonymous.
Giving a damn is for nurses, philanthropists and suicide hotlines.

Those are the values Mathew Rogers built his adult life on and plans to spend the rest of his days honoring. In his pursuit of happiness, he embarks on a one year journey where he’ll have to prove he can live by his values and rely only on himself.

Four months and thirteen days later, due to a series of unfortunate events, he finds himself in the rickety town of Jolene, Alabama. There, he meets Lexie, a waitress with some serious attitude and values of her own.

Never underestimate the healing power of chocolate chips.
If it walks and talks like a jerk, it’s definitely a jerk. Stay the hell away.
When in doubt, go with a smile and kindness. It goes a long way.

Taken by her beauty and personality, Mathew questions all he’s ever known and, much to his surprise, begins to give a damn about someone else for once in his life. The problem, however, is that Lexie seems to despise him.

Desperate to get his life back but unable to get in his car and drive to the next unplanned destination, Matt stays in Jolene. In the midst of arguments, unlikely friendships, new values and heartbreak, they’ll both try to find a reason to stay.

 

REACTION UPON FINISHING

MY THOUGHTS

Love turns us into who we really are. It sets us free.

This was exactly what I was looking for! Something sweet and swoon-worthy that held my attention until the very end! ♥

Lexie was an amazing character. I immediately liked her. She was so quirky and definitely a firecracker. I love how she didn’t let anybody walk all over her, especially Matt, who could be one hell of an asshole.

Matt . . . was a challenge. I can’t say he was my favorite in the beginning. You can instantly tell he’s trouble and has a bad attitude, but I knew there was something more and really wanted him to show it.

“The love I feel for you will be the reason I stay away. But I’ll never stop waiting for a reason to come back.”

He did win me over . . . and the relationship that developed between Lexie & Matt was a really touching one. Like, moved-me-to-tears kind of touching ♥

 

RATING

★★★★★ SWEET STARTS

 

WHO WOULD I RECOMMEND TO?

Anybody who loves a sweet, light but emotional new adult read. You get a firecracker female MC and a lovable jerk!

4 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR | The Reason I Stay by Patty Maximini

Leave a Reply

