BOOKISH MUSINGS | Rival by Penelope Douglas

Rival by Penelope Douglas
Published: August 26th 2014 by Penguin Group (USA)
Pages: 366
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Part Of A Series? Yes!! Rival is book two in the Fall Away series
Other Books From Author: Corrupt

Why Did I Pick This Up? I read book one, Bully and jumped at the chance to read Madoc’s story!

Amazon | Audible | Barnes & Nobles | Kobo | iBooks

SO, WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

Madoc and Fallon. Two estranged teenagers playing games that push the boundaries between love and war . . .

She’s back.

For the two years she’s been away at boarding school, there was no word from her. Back when we lived in the same house, she used to cut me down during the day and then leave her door open for me at night.

I was stupid then, but now I’m ready to beat her at her own game . . .

I’m back.

Two years and I can tell he still wants me, even if he acts like he’s better than me.

But I won’t be scared away. Or pushed down. I’ll call his bluff and fight back. That’s what he wants, right? As long as I keep my guard up, he’ll never know how much he affects me . . .

IN A GIF

WHAT I THOUGHT

 

“The thing is, Fallon . . . I told you before to lock the door if you wanted me to stay out. Funny thing is . . .” I leaned in. “You. Never. Did.”


 

Rival was a really cute story. I was entertained and rooting for the main couple. I really enjoyed the duo point-of-view and we even got to see how Tate & Jared were doing ♥

Her eyes had always looked dark and lost to me, like she was searching for something but wouldn’t know it if she found it.

I was impartial to Fallon. At some points I really liked her but overall, she was too wishy-washy for my taste. I knew that some of it couldn’t be helped, that there was something deeper going on but I wanted to bang my head every time she alluded to something but didn’t give us the full story. However, I really did feel bad for some of the things she’s had to go through because of her fucked up parents.



“That’s what makes Madoc a good kid, Fallon. He picks up the pieces.”

It’s safe to say that I wasn’t a huge fan of Madoc’s. One asshole comment after another kept coming out of his mouth and I was ready for Fallon to say “to hell with you!” and I would have been right there with her with an “I hate Madoc” foam finger and all.
He did, eventually, redeem (and explain) himself so I’ll have to save that foam finger for another day.

“You’re going to ruin me, Fallon.” No more than you ruined me.

They weren’t my all time favorite characters but I really liked them together. They were cute and I found myself smiling at their banter. I didn’t really buy into their connection as teenagers, and maybe that’s because we didn’t see enough of them as 15/16 year-olds, but I did believe their connection as adults. All that steaminess didn’t hurt either 😉

“I was happy and alive when I was with her. I hadn’t felt that for a long time.”

All in all, I thought this was a great sequel to Bully. Some parts were a little rocky for me but, in the end, I enjoyed the story.

♥ My casting for Fallon and Madoc ♥

FACTORS FOR RATING

 ★★★ CUTE STARS

+ I was entertained form beginning to end. Although there were some things I didn’t like, this book always had me coming back to it 😉

+ The story. It was definitely cute and sweet. A great in between books kind of story.

The characters. Madoc could be a huge asshole and Fallon was too all over the place, for me.

Their connection. I didn’t believe in their connection as young teens. I never really felt like they had a history.

WHO WOULD I RECOMMEND TO?

Someone in need of a really sweet, entertaining in-between-books kind of read. Each one can be read as a standalone and ends on a happy note!

HAVE YOU READ THIS? WHAT DID YOU THINK? DID YOU LIKE MADOC AND FALLON? DID YOU ENJOY SEEING JARED AND TATE AGAIN? IF NOT, IS THIS THE TYPE OF GENRE YOU USUALLY READ? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

One thought on “BOOKISH MUSINGS | Rival by Penelope Douglas

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post | Uniquely Portable Magic

Leave a Reply

