BOOKISH MUSINGS | Puddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson

Puddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson
Published: July 1st 2014 by Self Pub
Pages: 126
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Part Of A Series? Nope
Other Books From Author: Where We Fell, Beatless, and Eight Days a Week

Why Did I Pick This Up? This came HIGHLY recommended from a friend and is only around 126 pages, so I thought eh, why not?

Amazon | Goodreads

SO, WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

When it comes to love there’s no such thing as conventional.

Everyone thinks Colton Neely is special.

Lilly Evans just thinks he’s fascinating.

Once friends when they were younger, their bond is cut short due to her accident prone nature and they go their separate ways. Years later, they meet again and Lilly learns that there is something special about the boy she once knew, but she has no idea what it all means. And she’s not sure if she’s ready to find out.

When he walks through the corridor of her school the first day of her senior year, she knows that it’s time to get to know the real Colton Neely. The more she learns, the deeper she falls.

Their friendship grows into love, even as Colton does not express it in words. But one decision threatens to break down the world that Lilly has tried so hard to integrate into and she must figure out if the relationship can survive if they are apart.

REACTION UPON FINISHING

WHAT I THOUGHT

*cracks knuckles and does finger dance over keyboard* let’s begin . . .

And maybe some people would say that I loved him too much and forgot myself in the process, but from what I’ve seen of relationships, there’s always that one person who does.

This was the cutest, sweetest, most precious book I’ve had the pleasure of reading ♥

I just had to add that gif^^ If you’ve read Puddle Jumping, you know that is so Colton 😉 ♥

Puddle Jumping was such a beautiful, unique story about love and I never wanted it to end. I completely loved it. Sometimes you need a book that makes you smile, giggle, and just make you feel really good.

“You’d love to think it’s a choice to love him, but it’s not, Lily. You’ve already decided. I can see it on your face.”

Lily was absolutely amazing. I loved how caring and devoted she was to Colton. She knew what and who she wanted and never let anyone bully/pressure her into changing her feelings. She was never embarrassed about her love for Colton.

There is no doubt that Colton has my heart. Completely. He was the sweetest, most amazing and talented guy. It’s not easy to be with him, and Lily’s patience was admiringly unwavering . . . and in the end, it was worth it. He was worth it.

“I do . . . love you. If you needed me to say it before you should have told me so. I know what it means.” They way he said it was like the words were forcing themselves from him mouth almost painfully, his face contorting as they left his lips and his eyebrows drew together. “This emptiness inside me here,” he placed my hand on his chest, “means I love you. When you’re not here, I can’t focus. It’s too loud . . . but my heartbeat does this when you’re close.”

I never stood a chance at not falling in love with him.

This book, at times, was heartbreaking. I just wasted to gather Colton into my arms and never let anything hurt him.

The only complaint I have is that I want more! But that’s not really a complaint . . . more like a request/plead/me begging on my knees. Pretty please, can we have more Colton? *puppy face*

Plans change.
Life changes.
And as an after effect, love changes too.

 

This is my story. Our story. It’s about an incredible guy who changed my mind about everything I thought I knew. And maybe I helped change his world, too.

♥ My casting for Colton and Lily ♥

  

FACTORS FOR RATING

★★★★★ HEARTWARMING STARS

+ The Characters. Colton *sigh* was so imperfectly perfect. I could dedicate my whole life to writing solely on him and enjoy every second of it. I highly respected Lily. She always stuck to her guns and always made sure to keep Colton in mind when she did anything.

+ The Story. When I picked this up, I thought the shortness in length was going to be a plus . . . well, no. By the end I was dying for more pages . . . more Colton . . . anything the author would throw at me 😉

+ No games. Everything was straightforward and I never felt the characters or story were going in circles.

WHO WOULD I RECOMMEND TO?

This is a story I’d recommend to anybody.
You want the cutest story? *hands you book*
You want the sweetest book boyfriend? *hands you book*
You want something with humor? *hands you book*
You want mystery, erotica, fantasy, or something dark? Well you won’t find that here but . . . *hands you book, anyways*

HAVE YOU READ THIS? WHAT DID YOU THINK ABOUT COLTON? LILY? HAVE YOU READ ANY OTHER BOOKS LIKE THIS? IF NOT, IS THIS SOMETHING THAT PIQUES YOUR INTERSET? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

6 thoughts on “BOOKISH MUSINGS | Puddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson

  1. OMG!!!! What a review!! It was like a mini-movie!! Well, I certainly want to get this book NOW. I already love Colton, just from what you’ve written about him! So, thanks for turning me on to this book, which is going onto my Goodreads TBR shelves, and Amazon wish list!! : )

    • Thank you so much, Maria!!

      Yay! *does happy dance* this book is AMAZING and everybody I know has loved it, so far ♥ Colton is just swoon worthy & Lily was equally as amazing. I hope you love it!! 😀

  2. I had mixed views really, but I’m glad that I read it – mostly because it was different and showed a good representation of disability and found the characters to be likeable. A sweet, quick read and I’d read her work again. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Sunday Post | Uniquely Portable Magic

  4. Pingback: Friday Favorites #1 | Uniquely Portable Magic

Leave a Reply

