BOOKISH MUSINGS | Six of Hearts by L. H. Cosway

Six of Hearts by L. H. Cosway
Published: July 26th 2014 by CreateSpace
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult, Mystery
Part Of A Series? Nope, this is a standalone

Other Books From Author: Painted Faces, The Nature of Cruelty, Still Life with Strings (MY REVIEW), Florence Vaine series, The Ultimate Power series

Why I Picked This Up? I was being bombarded with amazing reviews on Goodreads about this book and my curiosity one out!

Amazon Barnes & Nobles –  Kobo

SO, WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

Step right up and meet Jay Fields: Illusionist. Mentalist. Trickster.

I think in triangles. You think in straight lines.

I show you a table and make you believe it’s a chair.

Smoke and mirrors, sleight of hand, misdirection. I trick and deceive.

But most of all, I put on a good show.

The world thinks I killed a man, but I didn’t. Bear with me. It’s all a part of the plan.

Revenge is what I want. I want it for me and I want it for her.
I want it for all six of us.

She doesn’t remember me, but she’s the reason for everything. She’ll be my prize at the end of all this – if I can hold onto my willpower, that is. Maybe I’ll slip up a little, have a taste, just a small one.

So go ahead and pick a card. Come inside and see the show. Look at my hands, look so closely that you can’t see what’s happening while you’re so focused on looking. I’ll be destroying your world from right here in the spotlight.

You’ll never see me coming until it’s too late.

I’ve only got one heart, and after I’ve pulled off my grand deception I’ll hand it right to her.

So, sit back, relax, and let my girl tell you our story. You’re in for one hell of a ride.

 

IN A GIF

 

MY THOUGHTS

Six of Hearts was an interesting story. I wanted to go in as blind as possible, so I only read the blurb, and I got the vibe that this was going to be a dark, mysterious book. This was not the case. It still has it’s rough, heartbreaking subjects but, even with all that, I found this book to be pretty light.



“Never try to out-trick a trickster.”

The writing was good and kept me entertained. There is a change of POV from the prologue to the chapters and for some reason I had some trouble adjusting. Personally, I love 1st person POV but I felt the author grabbed my attention more with 3rd.

Matilda was quirky and easily likable. She didn’t really stand out to me much, except for the times where I was going ??? at some of the things she said/thought . . .

Also, I apologise to any woman whose parents were cruel enough to name her Dickina.

???

I soon learned it was just her character and after a while you get used to her kind of humor.



“Yeah I have a dirty mouth, but it’s mostly used for good.”

Jay was the opposite of Matilda . . . smooth, confident, etc. I liked his playful demeanor and how quick he was to protect those he cared about.

The plot was entertaining but predictable and by the end I had most of it figured out. What I love in a mystery is when the author leaves little clues throughout the whole book, that at first glance seems like nothing but in the end makes the whole story. I didn’t really get that here.

FACTORS FOR RATING

★★★☆ TRICKSTER STARS

 

+ Romance. It has a very cute romance. Something that makes you smile, giggle, and squeal ♥

+ Characters. The characters were well developed and likable . . . even if Matilda was a little random.

Plot. It was very predictable. I want clues, I want something that has my mind going a million miles when I read a mystery. I want to be obsessed with uncovering the truth . . . but I didn’t feel that here.

POVs. I had a hard to getting used to the POV change from 3rd to 1st 😦

WHO WOULD YOU RECOMMEND TO?

Overall, I thought it was a cute, light read with nothing too nitty gritty and a sweet romance. This is a really good book, if you’re in the mood for it 🙂

 

HAVE YOU READ THIS? WHAT DID YOU THINK? DID YOU LIKE MATILDA? DID YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE POVs OR PLOT? IF NOT, DO YOU USUALLY READ MYSTERY? WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITES? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

Leave a Reply

