BOOKISH MUSINGS | Breach by K. I. Lynn

Breach by K. I. Lynn
Published: April 24th 2014
Genres: Erotica, Adult, Romance, Dark (ish ;))
Part Of A Series? Yes!! This is book one in the Breach series

Why I Picked This Up? I’ve been reading a lot of YA and Fantasy so I needed something to just relax with, but still keep my interest. What better way to go than with a dark(isn) erotica? πŸ˜‰

Amazon – Kobo

SO, WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

Delilah Palmer has always maintained control of her life and outward personality, blocking the truth that’s just below the surface. Using a faΓ§ade meant to be normal and hide the scars of her childhood, she’s made a good life for herself. Becoming a successful lawyer, she is finally free from the tortured past that haunts her daily. Until he comes along and breaks open the cracks.

Nathan Thorne has a haunted past of his own. On the surface, he is personable, extroverted, and loved by everyone; everything Delilah isn’t. However, hidden beneath his charming smile is a dark and tormented man that only Delilah has the power to unveil.

Forced into a small office together, they begin to see through each other’s masks, and the magnetic attraction ignites an explosive relationship. Their firm, Holloway and Holloway Law, has a strict non-fraternization policy, forcing them to conceal their breach. But despite their efforts, separation becomes impossible, deceptions escalate, and Nathan begins to teeter on the edge of being overtaken by his past demons.

What dark secrets does Nathan harbor that stop him from giving in, and what is it that keeps him from healing and moving forward? And more importantly, where does Delilah fit into his turmoil? Will they be able to accept love and deal with all the trials that develop as their secrets are exposed, or will they fall through the cracks of their pasts and be consumed by all that haunts them?

An exciting new romance, Breach will hook readers from the very beginning. With smoldering romance and captivating erotica, this enthralling story is perfect for all. Using shrouded secrets of the past and a combustible relationship that borders on taboo, this thrilling novel ramps up the tension and romance at every turn.

 

REACTION UPON FINISHING

 

WHAT I THOUGHT



“You know, you don’t have to climb all over me to get my attention. Lifting your skirt works very well,” he said.

Me reading Breach in public:


I know what to expect when I read a book like this.
1. Hot sex.
2. Dirty talking alpha-male.
3. Shitty heroine.
4. Some kind of emotionally and/or physically damaged main character(s).

What I got was . . .
1. Sex hot enough to burn a hole through my pants.
2. A dirty talking alpha-male that could singe the ears (and eyes) of any reader.
3. A heroine with a backbone.
4. Damaged main characters that had me wanting to know more instead of roll my eyes.

Β 

Why was he punishing me? Because I called to him, and I let him do whatever he wanted to me. Punishing himself for wanting me and doing whatever he desired to me. Punishing us for our breach.

I started reading this because after all the pnr, fantasy, and heavy-thinking books I’ve read, I needed something smut-tastic. But this book went above and beyond. Not only was the sex, you know, good *tries for casual shrug* but I was as equally entertained with the story.

Delilah Palmer was quite a surprised. I was expecting a mousy, irritating heroine but instead I got a fiery one with a backbone.

As for Nathan Thorne, the stories are true, he is one hell of a dirty talker. But aside from that, I was genuinely interested in figuring out what happened to him. He was an enigma and I was soaking up every detail in order to piece together his story.
This also meant closely analyzing those sex scenes . . . and what can I say? It was all in the name of research πŸ˜‰

Nathan & Lila’s relationship (if you can call it that) was a tricky one. They were so adamant about remaining emotionally distant, even while their physically chemistry kept pulling them together. But in no time, they were finding solace in each other.

I loved how intense they could be one moment and then playful in the next.

Awards could be given for the lies we told, and the feelings we hid under a mask of hate and indifference.



His fingers stroked my hair, calming me. “You’re dead inside, just like me.”

My casting for Lila & Nathan

Β Β 

 

FACTORS FOR RATING

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… H.O.T STARS

+ Exactly what I needed. I asked for hot and I got it! All in a sexy, dirty-talking, emotionally scarred package.

+ Likable heroine. The fastest way on my DNF shelf is an irritating heroine and Lila was surprisingly pleasant πŸ™‚

+/- Plot. It was enough to keep me entertained and engaged with the story, but it was by no means the story.

 

WHO WOULD I RECOMMEND TO?

Anybody in need of a smut-tastic read. This is probably one of the best eroticas I’ve read in a while πŸ™‚ It’s not too angsty and you have no problems connecting with the characters. It does have a cliffhanger . . . but all the books are out so it works out perfectly!

HAVE YOU READ THIS? DID IT WORK FOR YOU? WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT NATHAN’S PAST? DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEAS ON WHAT’S TO COME IN BOOK 2 AND 3? IF NOT, IS EROTICA SOMETHING YOU LIKE TO READ? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!

2 thoughts on “BOOKISH MUSINGS | Breach by K. I. Lynn

Leave a Reply

