Book Review: Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1) by Laini Taylor


“Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love.
It did not end well.”

 

The feels. It’s hard to put into words how wonderful this book is. How magical, captivatingspellbinding Daughter of Smoke & Bone is. This is a story I wound recommend to anyone.

Once all the doors were marked, the end would begin. And it would begin with fire.”

 

♦︎ The Story ♦︎


“It wasn’t like in the storybooks. No witches lurked at crossroads disguised as crones, waiting to reward travelers who shared their bread. Genies didn’t burst from lamps, and talking fish didn’t bargain for their lives. In all the world, there was only one place humans could get wishes: Brimstone’s shop. And there was only one currency he accepted. It wasn’t gold, or riddles, or kindness, or any other fairy-tale nonsense, and no, it wasn’t souls either. It was weirder than any of that. It was teeth.”

I don’t think it gets anymore original than this. Laini Taylor has a gift. She took typical paranormal elements like magic & angels and created a refreshing and original story. I was thrown into a new world and I enjoyed every second of it. From the first page, you’re riveted. Daughter of Smoke and Bone had one of the best opening lines I have ever read. Right from there I was hooked. The writing… wow. Everything was lyrical and so eloquently put I could have been reading about the life and development of algae and I wouldn’t have been able to tear my eyes away.

♦︎ The Characters ♦︎

 

“Once upon a time, an angel lay dying in the mist.
And a devil knelt over him and smiled.”


“Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens. I need you to remember that I love you.”

 

∙ Karou ∙

“‘Who are you?’ Kaz had sometimes asked, enchanted, to which Karou would wistfully reply, ‘I really don’t know.’

Because she didn’t.”

 

One of my all time favorite heroines. I absolutely loved her. She was quirky without being irritating, brave and independent without being stupid… she was everything that I’d hoped for.

∙ Akiva ∙

“‘Have you ever asked yourself, do monsters make war, or does war make monsters?’”

 

Oh, Akiva *sobs* my poor, tortured hero. Despite all his mistakes, I still love him… honestly, those mistake are what made me love him in the first place.

From the outside Akiva seems cold and distant but with the dual POV, you get to see what goes on inside his head. It allowed me to understand what he was feeling and see what he wouldn’t, couldn’t dare show.

∙ Madrigal ∙

“‘Like mold on books, grow myths on history.’”

 

For most of the story, Madrigal is shrouded in mystery and only towards the end of the book do we learn more about her. I loved her kindness and how, especially with the way she’d been raised, open minded she was. That’s all I can really say without spoiling most of the book (I know, pretty vague).

∙ Everyone else ∙

“Once upon a time, a little girl was raised by monsters.”

 

I loved Brimstone‘s surly but loving attitude towards Karou, which in the end was bittersweet (view spoiler). I also loved how everyone else in Brimstone’s shop doted on Karou. They were family and the (view spoiler) blindsided me.

Kaz… I can’t say I didn’t love the way Karou would torture him. Definitely well deserved.

Zuzana was just too hilarious. She lightened to mood of the whole story.

♦︎ Overall ♦︎

“‘Wishes are false. Hope is true. Hope makes its own magic.’”

 

Daughter of Smoke & Bone is a story I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend. If you’re looking for a truly captivating and magical read then this is one you definitely have to pick up. Nothing I’ve ever read compares to the brilliance and uniqueness of this story.

“Once upon a time, an angel and a devil held a wishbone between them.

And it snapped and split the world in two.”

 

Final rating: ★★★★★/ ★★★★★

 

Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Publication date: September 27, 2011
Book description: Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

About the author: Hi there! I’m a writer of fantasy books for young people, but my books can be enjoyed by adults as well. My ‘Dreamdark’ books, Blackbringer (2007) and Silksinger (2009) are about faeries — not dainty little flowery things, but warrior-faeries who battle devils. My first young adult book, Lips Touch, is a finalist for the 2009 National Book Award! It’s creepy, sensual supernatural romance. . . about kissing. I am also an artist with a licensed gift product line called “Laini’s Ladies.”

☺︎

Leave a Reply

